Linda J. Mensing
Supervisor of Assessments

8:00am - 4:30pm


Fax: 618-594-0198


Linda J. Mensing C.I.A.O./I
Chief County Assessing Official
850 Fairfax Street
Carlyle, IL 62231

Linda Mensing


Township Multipliers

Township Multipliers are, at times, necessary to equalize properties. As required by the Illinois State Law, real estate transfer declarations are completed on all properties with an exchange of money. Each declaration shows the sales amount and the prior year assessed value and is sent to the Illinois Department of Revenue to compute a sales ratio.

In order to compute a sales ratio, the current sales price is divided by the prior years assessed value. (i.e. 2015 sale divided by the 2014 assessed value). The required sales ratio is 33.33%. If more sales ratios are lower than 33.33%, a positive township multiplier is required. If more sales ratios are above 33.33%, a negative township multiplier is required. A three year average is used by the Department of Revenue to calculate 2015 township multipliers.

If township multipliers are not applied correctly, state multipliers may be applied by the Department of Revenue to all properties in the county.

  County Offices:
  Addressing (618) 594-6631 Highway Department (618) 594-2224
  Animal Control (618) 594-4483 Jail (618) 594-4555
  Assessments (618) 594-6610 Probation Department (618) 594-6635
  Circuit Clerk (618) 594-6615 Public Defender (618) 594-6640
  Coroner (618) 594-6625 School Superintendent (618) 594-2432
  County Clerk & Recorder (618) 594-6620 Sheriff (618) 594-4555
  Emergency Management (EMA) (618) 594-4455 State's Attorney (618) 594-6645
  Enterprise Zone (618) 594-6632 Treasurer (618) 594-6650
  GIS (618) 594-6630 Zoning (618) 594-6655
  Health Department (618) 594-2723    

  Albers Village Hall(618) 248-5154Aviston Village Hall(618) 228-7262
  Bartelso Village Hall(618) 765-2133Beckemeyer Village Hall(618) 227-8331
  Breese City Hall(618) 526-7731Carlyle City Hall(618) 594-2468
  Damiansville Village Hall(618) 248-5111Germantown Village Hall(618) 523-4243
  Hoffman Village Hall(618) 495-2234Keyesport Village Hall(618) 749-5391
  New Baden Village Hall(618) 588-3813 Centralia City Hall (618) 533-7623
  Trenton Village Hall (618) 224-7323 Wamac City Hall (618) 532-1138
  Huey Village Hall